Honorary Freemen of the Borough	Date of Resolution of Council
Joseph Francis, OBE. JP.	17 th December 1918
Robert Arthur Jones, MBE.	18 th April 1919
William Gregson	22 nd November 1921
Sir Frederick William Senier, JP.	19 th February 1929
The Rt. Hon. Rupert Edward Cecil Lee,	18th October 1932
Earl of Iveagh, CB, CMG.	
The Rt. Hon. Gwendolen Florence May,	18th October 1932
Countess of Iveagh, CBE, MP.	
Albert Martin	18 th July 1933
John Henry Burrows, JP, CA.	18 th July 1933
William Miles, OBE, JP.	21st May 1940
Herbert James Worwood, OBE.	18th September 1945
Miss Margaret Edith Reay, CBE, JP.	30 th March 1949
Stephen Frost Johnson, JP.	18 th March 1950
The Ven. Ellis Norman Gowing, MA.	31st March 1954
Chalton Hubbard, JP.	31st March 1954
Edward Cecil Jones, MBE, MC, JP.	20 th April 1955
Alex Hemsley White	20 th January 1965
John Edwin Longman, JP.	9 th October 1968
William Harold Clough, FIA. FSS.	9 th October 1968
Archibald Glen	25 th March 1971
Lady Doris Katherine McAdden	22 nd April 1982
Norman Harris, CBE, BSc., FCIT.	4 th April 1984
Albert Victor Mussett	17 th January 1985

Frederick Geoffrey Laws, LLB.

Frederick Royston Peacock, IPFA, FBIM, FRVA.

17th January 1985

11th May 1989

Jean Mary Sargent, DL.	11 th May 1989
Eric James Trevett	11 th May 1989
Bernard Birn, MBE.	5 th August 1991
Derek Comedy Flatley, MBE. FJI.	16 th July 1992
Norman Clarke, OBE, BSc., CMath, FInstP, FIMA.	19th September 1996
Philip Hyatt Herbert, B.A.	19th September 1996
Beryl Stella Scholfield	15 th October 1998
Trevor Bailey, CBE, MA	13 th July 2000
Pat Barnett	13 th July 2000
Kenneth Crowe	13 th July 2000
Peggy Fairless	13 th July 2000
Richard 'Digby' Fairweather	13 th July 2000
Leonard Forge, MBE	13 th July 2000
Steve George	13 th July 2000
Paul Gilson	13 th July 2000
Barry Godwin, CEng, MIMechE, FIQ, MILT, AIED	13 th July 2000
Norma Heigho	13 th July 2000
lan Johnson	13 th July 2000
Hilda May	13 th July 2000
John May	13 th July 2000
Clifton Jay Morehouse	13 th July 2000
Richard Offord	13 th July 2000
Eileen Smith	13 th July 2000
Peter Thorn, ACIB	13 th July 2000
Antony F. Tomassi	13 th July 2000
Arthur Wood	13 th July 2000
Jim Worsdale	13 th July 2000

The Rt Hon The Lord Kelvedon PC 26th November 2003

Ronald Kennedy, BEM, DL 26th November 2003

Michael Woodford, MBE 26th November 2003

Sir Teddy Taylor 30th September 2004

Robert Tinlin 23rd February 2017

David Norman MBE 25th January 2022

Garry Lowen 25th January 2022

Honorary Freemen of the City Council Date of Resolution of Council

Sir David Anthony Andrew Amess MP 1st March 2022

Mr David Stanley BEM 20th July 2023